Verb Vixen

I read. I listen. I watch. I write.
Monday, July 1
Permalink
The Eye of Minds (Morality Doctrine #1)- James Dashner
Being in James Dashner’s mind must be seriously disturbing. Eye of Minds is a fast paced, gritty, dystopian unlike anything I’ve seen before. As anyone who has read The Maze Runner trilogy knows, Dashner creates brutal worlds with haunting trials and disturbing twitsts and turns. Eye of Minds exceeds The Maze Runner world in all of its horrific glory in my opinion. The entire story forces questions on our reliance on technology, the dangers of virtual reality, cyberterrorism and what that might mean in a thoroughly sci-fi twisted future. There were plenty of plot twists I didn’t see coming; surprising me as a reader is a rare talent that Mr. Dashner seems to possess in spades. I loved the characters—Michael, Sarah, and Bryson are a merry trio.  I’m excited to see what happens in the next book with them. If this book is any measure, we’re in for a thrilling, heartbreaking, dark adventure. Eye of Minds is a delightful reminder that a good story doesn’t need to rely on a romance plot. I highly recommend The Eye of Minds for any YA reader interested in sci-fi, technology, gaming, dystopian, or just something different. 
Overall: A+
The Eye of Minds is due out from Delacorte Press in October. Pre-order your copy here.
ARC provided gratis by Delacorte via BEA

The Eye of Minds (Morality Doctrine #1)- James Dashner

Being in James Dashner’s mind must be seriously disturbing. Eye of Minds is a fast paced, gritty, dystopian unlike anything I’ve seen before. As anyone who has read The Maze Runner trilogy knows, Dashner creates brutal worlds with haunting trials and disturbing twitsts and turns. Eye of Minds exceeds The Maze Runner world in all of its horrific glory in my opinion. The entire story forces questions on our reliance on technology, the dangers of virtual reality, cyberterrorism and what that might mean in a thoroughly sci-fi twisted future. There were plenty of plot twists I didn’t see coming; surprising me as a reader is a rare talent that Mr. Dashner seems to possess in spades. I loved the characters—Michael, Sarah, and Bryson are a merry trio.  I’m excited to see what happens in the next book with them. If this book is any measure, we’re in for a thrilling, heartbreaking, dark adventure. Eye of Minds is a delightful reminder that a good story doesn’t need to rely on a romance plot. I highly recommend The Eye of Minds for any YA reader interested in sci-fi, technology, gaming, dystopian, or just something different. 

Overall: A+

The Eye of Minds is due out from Delacorte Press in October. Pre-order your copy here.

ARC provided gratis by Delacorte via BEA

Tags:   #i read #books #ya #young adult #ya lit #young adult publishing #the eye of minds #james dashner #the maze runner #dashnerarmy #delacorte press #bea #publishing


2 notes
Comments
Friday, June 10
Permalink

DASHNER ARMY CONTEST!

So if you follow me or James Dashner, author of the The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials and The Death Cure, on Twitter then you know that I suggested he form an army and well, he did.  I’m a General, obvs. Our ranks are growing on Twitter and you can join the army by tweeting with the #dashnerarmy hashtag.  But I digress.

The real reason I am posting is because the newest #dashnerarmy mission is to create the first official merchandise for the Dashner Army Cafepress store!  

The Contest: Create a slogan and/or design for the #dashnerarmy.  Obviously we encourage things related to the Maze Runner series.

The Rules: Designs must be original.  You can submit as many as you want either via link on twitter (make sure both I @verbvixen and @jamesdashner are cc’ed on it). Or you can submit them via email to VerbVixen@gmail.com. The Contest is open until June 30, 2011.  Winners will be chosen at the sole discretion of Verb Vixen and James Dashner.

The Prizes: The winner gets a. bragging rights, b. their design on the first official merch in the cafepress store, c. a swag pack from me including a signed copy of the first chapter of The Death Cure! The prize will include other materials, including but not limited to 1 other dystopian ARC (its a surprise yo!), autographed bookmarks from other YA authors, pins, and various sundry items.  I will also pre-order your copy of The Death Cure! Runners up will also receive prizes; I’m in a giving mood.

Props to Josh David Galloway (@joshdgalloway) who pointed out this need and thus inspired this contest. Follow him and all the #dashnerarmy members on twitter by following our official #dashnerarmy list.

Get Creative!

xoxo

General V.V.

Tags:   #i read, #dashnerarmy #james dashner #ya #young adult fiction #dystopian #the maze runner #the scorch trials #the death cure


8 notes
Comments
Tuesday, November 16
Permalink

Scorch Trials will test everything that you are. Remember WICKED is good.

Scorch Trials- James Dashner

Let me preface this by saying, Dashner’s books are amazing.  They have a great plot, good writing, and clever characters.  However, holy hades is this book exhausting to read!  The plot is so great because like the characters we have no idea what trial is ahead, what the next Variable will be, or who else will die.  Like Thomas and Teresa, we are in the dark when it comes to the full picture.  Is WICKED really good?  What the heck are these patterns for? 

Just when you think you know what’s going on, something new and completely unexpected happens.  It’s insane but in the most delightful way possible.  I may be exhausted mentally, emotionally, and physically-a state that mirrors the characters’ own-but I wouldn’t change it for anything.  No book has kept me on the edge of my seat as much as this one has…and I read a lot of books kids.  So, if you are into adventure, action, distopian novels, sci-fi, or just generally good reads pick up the Maze Runner and Scorch Trials ASAP.

Overall: A+

Tags:   #i read, #young adult fiction, #scorch trials, #WICKED, #ya lit #james dashner #maze runner



Comments
Sunday, July 25
Permalink

Can you solve the puzzle?

Maze Runner- James Dashner

In the vein of The Hunger Games, Dashner’s distopian novel features smart, relatable young characters.  Suddenly awoken in a strange place without memories, the boys of the Glade and the one female who changes the game, struggle to survive and escape the Maze.  But how can you escape something that can’t be solved?  The plot was brilliantly conceived and well executed, and the end leaves you wondering just who is WICKED?  You will by dying for Book Two: The Scorch Trials when it comes out this year.

Overall: A

Tags:   #distopian novel, #james dashner #maze runner #i read #young adult fiction #action



Comments